When a question is cross-posted from another StackExchange site, such as Superuser, I assume that we do not want the question duplicated on Unix and Linux. It is bad etiquette for someone to do so, and questions can be moved between sites.

When flagging a post for moderator attention, there is an "exact duplicate" option. This option requires linking to a question on U&L, and does not allow linking to another SE site. Should there be a separate flag for cross-posting?

share
    
yes, but I brought this up on meta SE and they said no, feel free to take it up on there again though IMO – xenoterracide Nov 8 '12 at 4:11
    
@xenoterracide Thanks, I found your original question on meta SO. It looks like the recommendation is to flag as OT, which seems wrong in some cases as it may not be OT. I feel a need to downvote cross-posts, but that may not be appropriate action either. – jordanm Nov 8 '12 at 5:14
    
Have you got some examples that annoy you? I can think of a number of cases, where x-posts might make sense (if you want an answer with the focus of that site). – Nils Nov 22 '12 at 21:44
1  
Possible duplicate of Should we get rid of the "cross-posted" close reason? – Scott May 10 at 21:19
    
@Scott how can my post be a duplicate of a question asked 1.5 years later about a feature that may exist because of this question? – jordanm May 10 at 21:26
    
Surely you know that chronological order is not a determiner for which question gets closed.  The two questions cover the exact same subject, and your question is obsoleted by this feature (that may exist because of this question), so this is the one that (IMHO) should be closed. – Scott May 10 at 21:32
    
@jordanm Treat "duplicate" to mean "there is an answer to this question over there". That seems to be more or less how we use it. Though I don't think it's a duplicate under that definition.. – derobert May 11 at 20:59

There is a flag for cross posting. Click should be closed… , off-topic, then This question has been posted on multiple sites. Cross-posting is strongly discouraged; see the help center and community FAQ for more information.

Note: the should be closed option only appears if you have 50 or more reputation.

share

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .